Book by phone: +1 (305) 296-9292

Papa's Hideaway #1 - Torrents of Spring - Nightly Rental

Guest Rating:

Vacation rental apartment. Sleeps 4, 0 bedroom, 1 bathroom. No pets allowed.

309 Louisa St #1 Key West, FL 33040 United States

view full size image gallery

  • Welcome Home!
  • Relax and enjoy a meal or some drinks on your tropical patio
  • Large living area and stylish pull out couch
  • Living area looking outside through your large glass door, welcoming in the sunlight
  • Full kitchen, complete with all you need to cook up the catch of the day
  • Sink into your King sized bed after an exciting day on the island
  • Bright bathroom with spacious a spacious shower and storage
  • Another Evening View of the Gorgeous Pool

Papa's Hideaway is a historic Key West Inn with all the charm of Hemingway's day and the convenience of being just one block off Duval street. The perfect mix of location, atmosphere and value.

Feel your tensions release as you soak up the warm tropical sun. Listen to the trade winds rustling through the palms, blowing each of your cares away...

The unit includes a king-size bed, kitchenette, flat screen television, living area and great front balcony, perfect for people-watching.

If you are looking for a taste of old Key West, Papa's Hideaway is the place for you!


Minimum Stay:
Please contact Key West Vacation Rentals regarding minimum stays and special rates. Minimum stay requirements apply on weekends (at least 3 nights), Winter/Spring season (January 2nd - April 30th - 5 night minimum), holidays and special events( Fantasy Fest & Christmas/New Year - 7 night minimum).

Download Vacation Rental Flyer
Rooms and Amenities
Property Type Apartment, 1 story
Unit Code Papas_1
Beds 1 king bed, 1 sleeper sofa
Bathrooms 1 bathroom
Rooms Sleeps 4
Pets No pets allowed.
Parking Street Parking
Living Air Conditioning, Ceiling Fans, Linens, Washer & Dryer, Ironing Board, High Speed Internet, No Phone
Kitchen Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Microwave, Toaster, Cookware
Outdoor Deck, Balcony, Gas Grill, Outdoor Shower, Shared Pool
Geographic Near Beach, Close to Town
Entertainment Cable TV
Average Manager Rating (Based on 2822 reviews)
Overall satisfaction: 4.5 stars
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager: 4.5 stars
Services from rental manager
Average Vacation Rental Rating (Based on 22 reviews)
Overall satisfaction: 4.5 stars
Overall satisfaction
Cleanliness: 4.5 stars
Cleanliness
Location: 5 stars
Location
Property condition: 4.5 stars
Property condition
100 % of our reviewers would recommend this vacation rental.

Vacation Rental Reviews

  • Papa's Hideaway was the PERFECT KEY WEST ATMOSPHERE!

    Stayed 4 days ending in July, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 4
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 5
    • Location
      Location: 5
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 5

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 5

    Michelle Z from Merritt Island, FL recommends this vacation rental

    Hi! Just wanted to say that our stay with you was soooo perfect! We thought about staying in condos or a hotel but I wanted to have a true Key West experience, and Papa's Hideaway was it! The pool and grounds were private and beautifully kept. Loved the iquanas peeking at you from the palm trees. Loved that it was just a couple blocks from the Southernmost tip! Loved that you could walk to restaurants, bike rentals, artsy little shops, and pretty close to the beach! Loved that when our a/c was leaving too much condensation, they immediately sent someone out who changed the whole thing. Only complaint which isn't a big one, is that they need more cups and plates in the kitchen...not a big deal. Housekeeper was a sweetheart! Can't say enough good things about it and will most definitely stay again! Thanks!!!

  •  
  • Fabulous place to relax!

    Stayed 4 days ending in May, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 5
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 5
    • Location
      Location: 5
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 5

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 5

    a guest from Key West, FL recommends this vacation rental

    These intimate cabanas are perfect for a secluded get away - and yet right off the main drag of Duval St. Super close to the 'southern most point of the US', one block off of Duval St…but tucked in a quiet, private garden with a private pool, grill and private balcony. The room is just the right size - not huge, but not tiny. Full kitchen, spacious main room and very clean. Key West Vacation Rentals makes it very easy to relax and have a great vacation!

  •  
  • Excellent Condo in Key West

    Stayed 8 days ending in April, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 5
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 5
    • Location
      Location: 5
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 5

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 5

    Erik L recommends this vacation rental

    Papa's Hideaway is an excellent location only 2 blocks from the sandy beach at South Beach and a block from Duval Street. Nice place with its own pool, a decent kitchen, and daily maid service.

  •  
  • Torrents of Spring

    Stayed 14 days ending in February, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 5
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 5
    • Location
      Location: 5
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 5

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 5

    John K from Luisville, KY recommends this vacation rental

    Great location on quiet end of Duval - would recommend

  •  
  • A week in Key West

    Stayed 7 days ending in February, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 4
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 5
    • Location
      Location: 5
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 5

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 4

    Tamara M from Geneseo, NY recommends this vacation rental

    We had a wonderful stay at Papa's Hideaway. The room is exactly as pictured. Very clean and comfortable. The location is very close to the southern most point but still close to everything. You can walk to Mallory Square in 15 to 20 minutes, but a 5 minute bike ride. The only down side for us was the pool area. It is very nice but quite small and not much sun. Over all, it was a wonderful place to stay.

  •  
  • Like living in an enchanted tropical forest.

    Stayed 2 days ending in December, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 5
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 5
    • Location
      Location: 5
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 4

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 5

    a guest from Chapel Hill, NC recommends this vacation rental

    We stayed here for 2 nights with our teenage son. Great location, quiet, lovely screened porch, very private. Only complaint was the sofa bed was not comfy, but son didn't mind too much. Can walk to everything, and park for free on the street.

  •  
  • This place is nice!

    Stayed 1 day ending in December, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 5
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 5
    • Location
      Location: 5
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 5

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 5

    Kenneth T from Amaillo, Texas recommends this vacation rental

    This is a nicely remodeled unit! Very nice open ceiling, & bathroom. Plenty of room in the remodeled shower. Very comfortable bed. Grounds are beautiful. Pool area is very nice. Extremely tropical. Key West Vacation rentals are great to deal with. All documents are ready at check in. Office ran our boarding passes with no problem. We would stay here again with no problem.

  •  
  • nice cozy apartment in key west

    Stayed 3 days ending in December, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 5
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 4
    • Location
      Location: 5
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 4

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 5

    a guest from Owings, MD recommends this vacation rental

    Excellent location to walk around old key west

  •  
  • Serenity

    Stayed 1 day ending in November, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 5
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 4
    • Location
      Location: 5
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 5

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 5

    Debra F from Canfield, OH recommends this vacation rental

    Very pleasant would stay again!!!!!

  •  
  • Best in Key West

    Stayed 1 day ending in August, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 5
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 5
    • Location
      Location: 5
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 5

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 5

    John M from Key West, FL recommends this vacation rental

    Clean rooms, great location, nicely decorated. What more could you ask for. Love it.

  •  
  • Key West for First Time

    Stayed 4 days ending in June, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 5
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 5
    • Location
      Location: 5
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 3

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 4

    a guest from Key West, Fl recommends this vacation rental

    Papa's Hideaway was perfect for our first trip to KW. It is literally hidden from most of the hustle. The BEST part was how quiet and relaxing this place was. It is one block from Duval. Entry is via an alley and it is enveloped by lush trees, landscaping, and a fenced in outdoor area. Trees provide shade, but the pool gets lots of sun.
    Only negatives: Our upstairs unit was very outdated in the kitchen and bathroom. Bathroom was VERY small.
    Housekeeping was discreet and quiet, no early knocking and banging.
    We would recommend this place for our own family and friends. Rent bikes and you are set for the week(end)!

  •  
  • Quiet, hidden location

    Stayed 2 days ending in June, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 5
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 5
    • Location
      Location: 4
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 4

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 4

    a guest from Norfolk, VA recommends this vacation rental

    I loved that the property was a bit off of the beaten path. It was quiet and the vegetation on the property made it very private and very shaded. My only complaint was that the sliding glass doors did not lock from the inside. Although there was a locked door to the patio, I would have preferred to lock the glass doors too.

  •  
  • A piece of paradise

    Stayed 4 days ending in May, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 4
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 4
    • Location
      Location: 5
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 4

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 4

    a guest from Buffalo, NY recommends this vacation rental

    Overall I loved this vacation rental. The office staff were very helpful as were the grounds staff. A few minor details I hope the rental addresses: many of the lights were out by the pool making both the ambiance and lighting for night swims lacking. The pad on our ironing board needed replacing. Many reviews state there is breakfast available in the morning, but I believe this was the case under the previous ownership.

  •  
  • hidden treasure

    Stayed 1 day ending in May, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 5
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 5
    • Location
      Location: 5
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 4

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 5

    Barry E from Key West, FL recommends this vacation rental

    My wife and I loved it and would stay again, perfect location and very cozy room. The rental staff were very friendly and even shuttled us to the ferry terminal, big thumbs up!!

  •  
  • Comfort, Location and Good Price

    Stayed 3 days ending in May, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 3
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 5
    • Location
      Location: 4
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 4

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 5

    NELSON LUCIO TEIXEIRA DE V from NOVA FRIBURGO, RIO DE JANEIRO recommends this vacation rental

    We were very well received by the employee Joseph who was always courteous and helpful when we need to. Papa's Hideaway has a great location, rooms are clean and airy, and all at a great price.

  •  
  • Overall a pleasant place to stay

    Stayed 4 days ending in April, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 4
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 4
    • Location
      Location: 4
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 4

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 4

    a guest from Middletown, MD recommends this vacation rental

    Overall we enjoyed and were satisfied with our 4 night stay at Papa's Hideaway. The unit was clean and comfortable with some recent updates; however the bathroom is quite small and dated and the air conditioner is very noisy when trying to sleep.

    The grounds were clean and filled with lush tropical plants and the pool was a nice relaxing space.

    The surrounding area was fine. You are away from the bustle of downtown, which is nice, and it's a pleasant 10-15 min. walk to reach it.

    There was maintenance (replacing decking) going on during our stay. The workers were professional and respectful, however, they did use the tenant parking spots some days which was inconvenient.

    Overall we enjoyed Papa's Hideaway and would definitely stay here again!!

  •  
  • Ok...not really what we expected

    Stayed 1 day ending in April, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 4
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 4
    • Location
      Location: 5
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 3

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 4

    William K recommends this vacation rental

    the unit is waht i would consider bare bones. the furniture semed a bit outdated. it seemed to be little hassle to lock door...then enter into sliding door.
    the property itself was nice, we just werent fans of the unit

  •  
  • Concerns unfounded

    Stayed 9 days ending in April, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 4
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 4
    • Location
      Location: 5
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 4

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 5

    a guest from Gary, IN recommends this vacation rental

    Since this was our 12th visit to this property, we too were concerned about the change of ownership when we arrived this year since we had stayed here 11 previous visits to Key West. Since there is no one on site we had to pick our key up at the office which is kind of a pain but not too bad. We had a package shipped to the office and they delivered it to our unit promptly and picked it up again when we checked out. We appreciated the safes in the room – those were new. We called about a broken screen for the sliding glass door and it was fixed the next day. The housekeepers were helpful and gave us towels when needed. WiFi worked fine. I did like the new saltwater setup of the pool and the water temperature was wonderful. Thanks for the big pool floats too, I didn’t have to blow up the one I brought. The new patio furniture is more comfortable than the old white plastic lounges. This is not a 4-star hotel property but we love it because it is quiet and small.
    Things we would like to see at this property
    1. Put (retractable) clotheslines on the porches – there used to be some but now they are gone which means wet suits and towels have to drape on the chairs to dry.
    2. There are small coffee makers in the room but no coffee. Some filters and coffee would be appreciated.
    3. Salt and pepper shakers
    4. A sharp knife – cutting some foods with a butter knife is not easy.
    5. A tray for carrying food – drinks outside, especially if the unit is on the 2nd floor.
    6. The pool may need to be vacuumed more frequently since there was a lot of plant debris stuck on the bottom.

  •  
  • Relaxing in Key West

    Stayed 5 days ending in March, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 5
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 4
    • Location
      Location: 5
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 4

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 5

    Kathryn H from Lindsay, CA recommends this vacation rental

    It was convenient to the restaurants and we were able to walk to most places that we wanted to go, so we didn't have to rent a car.

  •  
  • Nice Place, excess "fees" are a RIP OFF.

    Stayed 2 days ending in March, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 5
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 5
    • Location
      Location: 5
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 5

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 5

    a guest from Factoryville, PA recommends this vacation rental

    Vacation rental unit was excellent, however the additional "fees" you must pay are a rip off, especially the "damage fee" you pay even if you damage nothing. The excess fees raised the room rates by about 50%.

    • Manager Responded on 3/27/2014

      So glad you enjoyed the home. The $49 fee you paid was Damage Protection Insurance in lieu of a $3,000 damage deposit.

  •  
  • Weekend Getaway

    Stayed 4 days ending in February, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 2
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 4
    • Location
      Location: 5
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 4

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 4

    a guest from Dexter, MI recommends this vacation rental

    Overall, we were very happy with Papa's Hideaway. Just far enough off the beaten path to be quiet when necessary and just close enough to be meandering down Duvall Street in minutes. The most frustrating aspect of our stay was obtaining and dropping off keys. Making the reservation was simple. The management company was very polite and professional. However, about a week before our trip we realized we had not heard a thing from the management company. We called to confirm our reservation and all was well. What we did not realize at the time was that we did not receive our confirmation e-mail that explained the check-in and key process. We showed up at our destination with no access to the property, not realizing the management company was not on site. This was frustrating after a very long trip. We were saved by an employee leaving for the day, but that was pure luck. So be aware. Look for your e-mail. Have the management company phone number in hand. Ask questions about check-out and who to call for problems during your stay. These are the only things we struggled with while at Papa's Hideaway. We would definitely stay here again.

  •  
  • Fabulous holiday...

    Stayed 10 days ending in February, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 3
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 5
    • Location
      Location: 5
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 4

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 5

    a guest from New Paltz, NY recommends this vacation rental

    We had a great time at Papa's Hideaway. Checking in was a bit of a hassle without management on-site, but we handled it at the Vacation Rentals office off Duval. We had tremendous amounts of snow at home so the constant sunny weather and mid-70s temps were very welcome. We spent a lot of time at the Southernmost Beach Cafe and Bar and generally like the location near the quieter end of Duval St. It is an easy walk to the Fort Zachery Taylor beach where we spent two days, and to other areas in Key West. The inn is quiet--we seldom heard neighbors.

  •  
Getting your rate Getting your rate...
1. Select Your Dates to Check Availability

Click calendar to set checkin/checkout dates. clear calendar

 Unavailable  Selected  Available  Checkin only  Checkout only
2. Review Dates and Rates

Select/Confirm the number of travelers to get a rate quote.

: :
Base Rent:
Promo Savings: Remove
Discounted Rent:
Fees & Taxes:*
Total Price:
:
:
What's this?

A promo code is for special discounts and may have been provided to you in either a newsletter, email or other correspondence from the manager or owner of this property.

*Click 'Continue Booking' to view details of fees & taxes

Seasonal Rental Rates for this Vacation Rental

Dates Daily Weekly Monthly Minimum Stay Checkin Restrictions
Aug 1, 2015-Sep 3, 2015 $198 $1,386 na 1 Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu checkin only
Sep 4, 2015-Sep 6, 2015 $228-$258 na na 1 No restrictions
Sep 7, 2015-Sep 17, 2015 $198 $1,386 na 1 No restrictions
Sep 18, 2015-Sep 20, 2015 $228-$258 na na 1 No restrictions
Sep 21, 2015-Oct 21, 2015 $198 $1,386 $5,940 1 No restrictions
Oct 22, 2015-Oct 24, 2015 $308 na na 3 No restrictions
Oct 25, 2015-Oct 31, 2015 $360-$368 $2,536 na 5 No restrictions
Nov 1, 2015-Nov 14, 2015 $328 $2,296 na 5 No restrictions
Nov 15, 2015-Nov 24, 2015 $228-$258 $1,596 na 1 No restrictions
Nov 25, 2015-Nov 28, 2015 $308 na na 4 No restrictions
Nov 29, 2015-Dec 10, 2015 $198 $1,386 na 1 No restrictions
Dec 11, 2015-Dec 23, 2015 $328 $2,296 na 5 No restrictions
Dec 24, 2015-Jan 1, 2016 na $2,576 na 7 No restrictions
Jan 2, 2016-Apr 30, 2016 $328 $2,296 $9,840 5 No restrictions
May 1, 2016-Jun 30, 2016 $228-$281 $1,596-$1,836 $6,840-$7,080 3 No restrictions
May 20, 2016-May 22, 2016 $308 na na 3 No restrictions
Jul 1, 2016-Jul 4, 2016 $308 na na 3 No restrictions
Jul 5, 2016-Jul 31, 2016 $228 $1,596 na 3 No restrictions
Aug 1, 2016-Sep 1, 2016 $198 $1,386 $5,940 3 No restrictions

*Seasonal rates are estimates only. Actual rates may differ. Seasonal rates do not include fees or taxes.

To request information about booking this vacation rental, please fill out the form below.


Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!

Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!
24.547991,-81.799051
CALL US 1-(800) 797-8787

Key West Vacation Rentals 1075 Duval St Suite C22 Key West, Florida 33040 +1 (305) 296-9292 rick@hgakwvr.com

© 1999 - 2015 | Powered By Escapia Vacation Rental Software | Terms of Use

Logon