You are here

Papa's Hideaway #1 - Torrents of Spring - Nightly Rental

Request info Add to Favorites Printer-friendly version
Studio
1 Bathroom

Parking

  • Street Parking
Get Directions

Description

Papa's Hideaway was a historic Key West Inn with all the charm of Hemingway's day and the convenience of being just one block off Duval street. The perfect mix of location, atmosphere and value.

Feel your tensions release as you soak up the warm tropical sun. Listen to the trade winds rustling through the palms, blowing each of your cares away...

The unit includes a king-size bed, kitchenette, flat screen television, living area and great front balcony, perfect for people-watching.

If you are looking for a taste of old Key West, Papa's Hideaway is the place for you!

Key West Vacation Rentals typically releases all minimum night stay requirements within 60 days of the arrival date. Otherwise, our minimum night requirements are as follows:

- January thru April - 5 night minimum
- May thru mid - December - 3 night minimum
- Fantasy Fest Week - (late October) - 7 night minimum
- Christmas & New Years - 7 night minimum
- Special Holidays and Events may have up to 7 night minimums

Our software is designed to fill in small gaps between reservations that are outside of 60 days. Feel free to call our office for more info or special requests.

Individual making the reservation must be 25 years or older with proper identification and be an occupant of the property

Amenities

Living

  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Linens
  • Washer & Dryer
  • Ironing Board
  • High Speed Internet

Outdoor

  • Deck
  • Balcony
  • Gas Grill
  • Outdoor Shower
  • Shared Pool

Geographic

  • Near Beach
  • Close to Town

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
July 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
September 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
October 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
December 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 
March 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
April 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
July 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
September 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
October 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 

Rates

DatesNightlyWeeklyMonthly
07/30/17 - 08/03/17$228
08/06/17 - 08/10/17$228
08/13/17 - 08/17/17$228
07/05/17 - 08/19/17$228 - $248$1,636
08/20/17 - 08/24/17$198
08/20/17 - 08/31/17$198 - $288$1,566
08/27/17 - 08/31/17$198
09/04/17 - 09/07/17$198
09/04/17 - 09/13/17$198 - $288$1,566
09/10/17 - 09/13/17$198
09/17/17 - 09/21/17$198
09/17/17 - 10/19/17$198 - $288$1,566$6,660
09/24/17 - 09/28/17$198
10/01/17 - 10/05/17$198
10/08/17 - 10/12/17$198
10/15/17 - 10/19/17$198
10/20/17 - 10/22/17$388
10/23/17 - 10/28/17$428
10/29/17 - 11/02/17$228
10/29/17 - 11/07/17$228$1,596
11/05/17 - 11/07/17$228
11/08/17 - 11/12/17$348
11/13/17 - 11/16/17$228
11/13/17 - 11/21/17$228$1,596
11/19/17 - 11/21/17$228
11/26/17 - 11/30/17$228
12/03/17 - 12/07/17$198
12/10/17 - 12/14/17$198
12/17/17 - 12/21/17$198
12/01/17 - 12/21/17$198 - $258$1,566
12/22/17 - 12/27/17$428
12/28/17 - 01/04/18$3,296
01/05/18 - 04/30/18$348$2,436$10,440
05/01/18 - 05/03/18$228
05/01/18 - 05/24/18$228$1,596
05/06/18 - 05/10/18$228
05/13/18 - 05/17/18$228
05/20/18 - 05/24/18$228
05/25/18 - 05/27/18$308
05/28/18 - 05/31/18$228
05/28/18 - 06/28/18$228$1,596$6,840
06/03/18 - 06/07/18$228
06/10/18 - 06/14/18$228
06/17/18 - 06/21/18$228
06/24/18 - 06/28/18$228
07/01/18 - 07/05/18$308
06/29/18 - 07/07/18$308$2,156
07/08/18 - 07/12/18$228
07/08/18 - 08/18/18$228$1,596$6,840
07/15/18 - 07/19/18$228
07/22/18 - 07/26/18$228
07/29/18 - 08/02/18$228
08/05/18 - 08/09/18$228
08/12/18 - 08/16/18$228

Reviews

Best Night in Key West

Reviewed on 2017-06-15 by Monika G. of Key West, FL United States
Updated on 2017-06-15
Review of stay from 2017-06-12 to 2017-06-13
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
The location was great!

Great stay at Papa's

Reviewed on 2017-05-23 by Unknown of Averill Park, NY United States
Updated on 2017-05-23
Review of stay from 2017-05-14 to 2017-05-17
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in May, we have stayed at this property 1 time before. Had a great time and a very nice stay at Papa's. Room was very clean and well equipped for our stay. Nice quiet property with a nice sized pool for the number of quests. Really nice tropical (very Key West) setting. Check in and check out were easy. Location is good just off of Whitehead a few blocks north of the southern most point.
We will stay again when we return.

Papas hideaway #1

Reviewed on 2017-03-20 by David A. of Houston, TX United States
Updated on 2017-03-20
Review of stay from 2017-03-13 to 2017-03-18
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Great

Secluded Retreat

Reviewed on 2017-03-26 by Tara S. of Boca Raton, FL United States
Updated on 2017-03-26
Review of stay from 2017-03-20 to 2017-03-23
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
I stayed in one of the studio rentals at this property. Since this was my first trip to Key West, I wasn't sure what to expect. This property is truly a "Hideaway" as it is barely visible from the road. After walking about two blocks from the office where I checked in (a little inconvenient but not terrible-and check in was hassle free) I entered the gate to the Porper. I was greeted with lush tropical greenery and a sparkling clear, blue pool. I was immediately transformed into vacation mode. I made my way up to my room on the second floor. One enters through a locked patio door. The private balcony patio had a decent table and chairs; nothing fancy. The patio was semi private and spacious. The entry to the room was through one of 2 sliding glass doors. The air was not on im the room so it was quite warm and stagnant. The room gets little to no sun which is envident in the somewhat musty smell in the room. Not overly so, but enough to be noticeable. The room had an open floor plan with a kitchen area, seating area and bed all occupying the same space...truly a studio. The bathroom was very small but, since I was by myself, sufficient. Everything was clean and the bathroom and kitchen were well equipped with essential supplies (basic toiletries, dishes, coffee packs, etc). Overall a great place. The negatives for me were as follows: one window was missing a screen, none of the outlets in the kitchen worked, the microwave also did not work. Location is good for relaxation but is all the way on the east side of the Key...had to walk quite a bit to get to the action on Duval St. I really liked this place and would stay there again.

Excellent Choice

Reviewed on 2017-03-06 by Kelly F. of Butler, PA United States
Updated on 2017-03-06
Review of stay from 2017-02-22 to 2017-02-24
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
We loved Papa's Hideaway. It was so close to everything on Duval, the southernmost point, but was so quiet and peaceful. You can even walk to Mallory Square for the sunset. The pool was nice to lounge by. The interior of the cabin was so quaint, loved the wood walls and the full kitchen. The free street parking was a major bonus in KW. This is the third time we have stayed with KW vacation rentals. Highly recommend!

Key West relaxation

Reviewed on 2017-05-07 by Robert H. of Pitsburg, WI United States
Updated on 2017-05-07
Review of stay from 2017-05-01 to 2017-05-05
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Our stay at Papa's Hideaway was everything we hoped it would was quiet and peaceful which was restful but close to the action on the South Beach side of Key West. The cottage was clean and had everything we needed i.e. iron,microwave,large refrigerator,great air conditioner,nice shower and bed linens.The pool was well maintained and private. The staff was very accommodating and kind. We loved our stay.

Wedding Party Stay at Papa's Hideaway

Reviewed on 2016-06-17 by Henry B. of Tuleta, TX United States
Updated on 2016-06-22
Review of stay from 2016-06-08 to 2016-06-14
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Place was perfect for everyone....nice rooms, nice pool,easy to park,close to Duval Street and Southernmost Point,the Lighthouse, Earnest Hemmingway House, Restaurants...Place was well maintained...Get keys and register with...Key West Rentals

Torrents of spring

Reviewed on 2016-08-09 by Scott S. of Charlotte, NC United States
Updated on 2016-08-09
Review of stay from 2016-07-30 to 2016-08-03
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Decent place. Smaller than it looks in the pictures though. Would be just right for a couple. We had 2 children with us and it was kinda cramped. Good location, clean, nice pool. Watch out for the giant iguanas!

Quick Get Away

Reviewed on 2016-04-27 by Unknown of Hialeah, FL United States
Updated on 2016-04-27
Review of stay from 2016-04-23 to 2016-04-24
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
We brought my husband to Key West for a quick get away to celebrate his birthday. When we opened the door,we were so happy to see that it was very clean, charming and very spacious. The location was excellent. The pool looked beautiful in the evening and it was so nice and quiet. I would definitely stay there again.

Perfect place for what we needed.

Reviewed on 2016-06-06 by Unknown of , United States
Updated on 2016-06-06
Review of stay from 2016-05-28 to 2016-06-01
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Was a great place for what we wanted in our stay in Key West. Secluded, quiet, but close enough to everything you want to do in Key West. Having a pool was perfect to be able to take a dip a couple times a day. Only thing that would need improvement is maybe sweep off the pool deck area. With so many trees and plants so close, there was always debris on the deck.

Papa's Hideaway

Reviewed on 2016-07-01 by Patricia N. of PHOENIXVILLE, PA United States
Updated on 2016-07-01
Review of stay from 2016-06-15 to 2016-06-18
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
We had an incredible time at Papa's Hideaway. The pool, location, and room itself were all perfect. We definitely plan to come back.

Second Honeymoon

Reviewed on 2016-10-01 by Bryon W. of Westerville, OH United States
Updated on 2016-10-01
Review of stay from 2016-09-25 to 2016-09-29
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
The location was Key West beautiful, one block from the southern most point. A perfect spot to be central for all that's happening, but just far enough away for a quit glass a wine to unwind after dinner on Duval St.

Torrents Of Spring Rental

Reviewed on 2017-02-14 by David D. of Newark, DE United States
Updated on 2017-02-14
Review of stay from 2016-12-31 to 2017-01-07
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Located on a quiet side road next to the Naval Base, this was a gated enclave with 6 units surrounding a shared pool area. The unit was clean and retro,a small kitchen area w/full fridge and appliances, and a perfect covered deck for hanging out. We've stayed in many different Key West rentals, and this is one is one we would book again. Very satisfied with the experience, and the icing on the cake was the fact that we got there on Dec.31, so we got to take in the New Years festivities.

Perfect!!!

Reviewed on 2017-03-05 by jeff h. of bourne, MA United States
Updated on 2017-03-05
Review of stay from 2017-02-24 to 2017-03-03
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Nice room, quiet but right near all action. Pool was a wonderful midday break. Highly recommended

Annual Key West getaway.

Reviewed on 2016-01-23 by Brian B. of , United States
Updated on 2016-01-23
Review of stay from 2015-12-22 to 2015-12-25
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
This was our 18th time that we've stayed at this property. First with Ellen & Pat, Ellen and Fred & Andrea before KWVR's took the property over. We love the location in that it's a block off of Duvall and relatively quiet. Our only complaint would be we always arrive early and were not allowed to check in. We didn't need our room, but what we really wanted to do is to just close the gate and leave the world behind and just do nothing. If that's our only complaint, is that really complaining? Nope! We will probably be back...

Perfect Paradise

Reviewed on 2015-10-28 by Unknown of Worthington, OH United States
Updated on 2015-10-28
Review of stay from 2015-10-08 to 2015-10-11
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
This property is just in the right place. Close to everywhere you want to go on the island. Within walking distance, or rent a pedal bike and your off to explore. The security and privacy of the property was perfect. The pool is a treat after a long day on the island or an early morning wake up call. The studio we stayed in was clean and spacious. The bathroom is tight for two at once. It is even tight for one, but it works and is clean and updated. I highly recommend this property to anyone. The rental company had a private shuttle bus available to get to the office from the airport. This was great because the line to get a taxi was crazy long. We walked right onto the shuttle with no wait. Perfect. The rental office was inviting and friendly. Great vacation. The right choice!

Papa's Hideaway was the PERFECT KEY WEST ATMOSPHERE!

Reviewed on 2015-07-27 by Michelle Z. of Merritt Island, FL United States
Updated on 2015-07-27
Review of stay from 2015-07-20 to 2015-07-24
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Hi! Just wanted to say that our stay with you was soooo perfect! We thought about staying in condos or a hotel but I wanted to have a true Key West experience, and Papa's Hideaway was it! The pool and grounds were private and beautifully kept. Loved the iquanas peeking at you from the palm trees. Loved that it was just a couple blocks from the Southernmost tip! Loved that you could walk to restaurants, bike rentals, artsy little shops, and pretty close to the beach! Loved that when our a/c was leaving too much condensation, they immediately sent someone out who changed the whole thing. Only complaint which isn't a big one, is that they need more cups and plates in the kitchen...not a big deal. Housekeeper was a sweetheart! Can't say enough good things about it and will most definitely stay again! Thanks!!!

We Recommend Papas!

Reviewed on 2015-09-27 by Unknown of , United States
Updated on 2015-09-27
Review of stay from 2015-09-07 to 2015-09-11
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
We had a great time!

GREAT PLACE

Reviewed on 2015-09-28 by Evan S. of Indianapolis, IN United States
Updated on 2015-09-28
Review of stay from 2015-09-19 to 2015-09-26
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Papa's Hideaway was amazing. It is tucked away and exactly as advertised. The pool and deck area are only shared with 3 neighbors and were very clean and relaxing. We rented bikes for the week and were only a 5-10 minute ride from almost everywhere on the island. Key west Vacation rentals also had a free shuttle service to and from the airport which was very nice.

30th Anniversary Getaway

Reviewed on 2015-11-11 by Kristin H. of Sarver, PA United States
Updated on 2015-11-11
Review of stay from 2015-11-06 to 2015-11-09
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Everything was just perfect. Chris was really nice and picked us up from the boat. We got into our room early. The weather was beautiful. Location was perfect. Thank you for a great first weekend in Key West!

Fantasy Fest 15

Reviewed on 2015-11-03 by Unknown of Fort Pierce, FL United States
Updated on 2015-11-03
Review of stay from 2015-10-28 to 2015-11-01
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Another great experience with KWVR.

Quiet and secluded

Reviewed on 2015-12-05 by Unknown of Gloucester, MA United States
Updated on 2015-12-05
Review of stay from 2015-11-29 to 2015-12-02
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Experience was overall pretty good! Ample space, great location, and concierge was available for any questions or issues. Only complaints were that only 2 chairs got adequate sun by the pool, and the toilet sometimes didn't want to flush (faulty float). But overall we were pleased and would consider staying there again!

Beautiful quiet corner on Key West

Reviewed on 2016-02-11 by Unknown of Rockville, MD United States
Updated on 2016-02-11
Review of stay from 2016-02-03 to 2016-02-08
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Sweet, quiet studio in a lovely enclosed courtyard with pool.

Key West oasis

Reviewed on 2015-12-07 by Unknown of Cape Coral, FL United States
Updated on 2015-12-07
Review of stay from 2015-12-04 to 2015-12-05
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Perfect location...quiet,private within walking distance to everything.

Key West getaway

Reviewed on 2016-01-13 by Lori M. of Olathe, KS United States
Updated on 2016-01-13
Review of stay from 2016-01-08 to 2016-01-11
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
We ended up in Torrents of Spring in Papa's Hideaway because the unit we had originally booked needed some sort of maintenance. Key West Vacation gave us several options and we chose this unit. Each option was higher priced than our original booking and the upgrade to Torrents of Spring was given to us at no additional cost. This unit was part of a complex of units that shared an outdoor courtyard and a pool. The courtyard also had BBQ grills for the guests to use. The unit its of was comfortable and clean and was a good place for us to relax for a few days. The unit is about 2 or 3 blocks from the Southernmost Point and about 2 blocks off Duval. It was on a dead end street and off street parking was easily available. If you are familiar with Key West you will recognize this location is in a more quiet part of town - that was fine with us. In general, we had a great experience. I would note that the complex courtyard is shared with several large (up to 3 feet in length) iguanas- they hung out by the pool and climbed the trees. They weren't aggressive, but they were a little startling when we first noticed them!

Papas hideaway

Reviewed on 2016-03-02 by Ed O. of Downers Grove, IL United States
Updated on 2016-03-02
Review of stay from 2016-02-10 to 2016-02-15
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Very clean and comfortable place to stay. The balcony is a great place for coffee in the morning or a cocktail at night. Just a block off Duval street,you're walking distance from everything.

Perfect in every way

Reviewed on 2016-02-28 by Unknown of Danville, IL United States
Updated on 2016-02-28
Review of stay from 2016-02-23 to 2016-02-26
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Clean, quiet. Pool and patio area was so relaxing I never wanted to join the Duval Street craziness. Good location. People in other units were nice and considerate. The staff worked hard. Well Maintained.

Fabulous holiday...

Reviewed on 2014-02-22 by Unknown of New Paltz, NY United States
Updated on 2014-02-22
Review of stay from 2014-02-10 to 2014-02-20
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
We had a great time at Papa's Hideaway. Checking in was a bit of a hassle without management on-site, but we handled it at the Vacation Rentals office off Duval. We had tremendous amounts of snow at home so the constant sunny weather and mid-70s temps were very welcome. We spent a lot of time at the Southernmost Beach Cafe and Bar and generally like the location near the quieter end of Duval St. It is an easy walk to the Fort Zachery Taylor beach where we spent two days, and to other areas in Key West. The inn is quiet--we seldom heard neighbors.

Weekend Getaway

Reviewed on 2014-03-12 by Unknown of Dexter, MI United States
Updated on 2014-03-12
Review of stay from 2014-02-20 to 2014-02-24
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Overall, we were very happy with Papa's Hideaway. Just far enough off the beaten path to be quiet when necessary and just close enough to be meandering down Duvall Street in minutes. The most frustrating aspect of our stay was obtaining and dropping off keys. Making the reservation was simple. The management company was very polite and professional. However, about a week before our trip we realized we had not heard a thing from the management company. We called to confirm our reservation and all was well. What we did not realize at the time was that we did not receive our confirmation e-mail that explained the check-in and key process. We showed up at our destination with no access to the property, not realizing the management company was not on site. This was frustrating after a very long trip. We were saved by an employee leaving for the day, but that was pure luck. So be aware. Look for your e-mail. Have the management company phone number in hand. Ask questions about check-out and who to call for problems during your stay. These are the only things we struggled with while at Papa's Hideaway. We would definitely stay here again.

Relaxing in Key West

Reviewed on 2014-04-16 by Kathryn H. of Lindsay, CA United States
Updated on 2014-04-16
Review of stay from 2014-03-20 to 2014-03-25
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
It was convenient to the restaurants and we were able to walk to most places that we wanted to go, so we didn't have to rent a car.

Concerns unfounded

Reviewed on 2014-04-16 by Unknown of Gary, IN United States
Updated on 2014-04-16
Review of stay from 2014-03-30 to 2014-04-08
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Since this was our 12th visit to this property, we too were concerned about the change of ownership when we arrived this year since we had stayed here 11 previous visits to Key West. Since there is no one on site we had to pick our key up at the office which is kind of a pain but not too bad. We had a package shipped to the office and they delivered it to our unit promptly and picked it up again when we checked out. We appreciated the safes in the room – those were new. We called about a broken screen for the sliding glass door and it was fixed the next day. The housekeepers were helpful and gave us towels when needed. WiFi worked fine. I did like the new saltwater setup of the pool and the water temperature was wonderful. Thanks for the big pool floats too, I didn’t have to blow up the one I brought. The new patio furniture is more comfortable than the old white plastic lounges. This is not a 4-star hotel property but we love it because it is quiet and small.
Things we would like to see at this property
1. Put (retractable) clotheslines on the porches – there used to be some but now they are gone which means wet suits and towels have to drape on the chairs to dry.
2. There are small coffee makers in the room but no coffee. Some filters and coffee would be appreciated.
3. Salt and pepper shakers
4. A sharp knife – cutting some foods with a butter knife is not easy.
5. A tray for carrying food – drinks outside, especially if the unit is on the 2nd floor.
6. The pool may need to be vacuumed more frequently since there was a lot of plant debris stuck on the bottom.

Overall a pleasant place to stay

Reviewed on 2014-05-12 by Unknown of Middletown, MD United States
Updated on 2014-05-12
Review of stay from 2014-04-25 to 2014-04-29
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Overall we enjoyed and were satisfied with our 4 night stay at Papa's Hideaway. The unit was clean and comfortable with some recent updates; however the bathroom is quite small and dated and the air conditioner is very noisy when trying to sleep.

The grounds were clean and filled with lush tropical plants and the pool was a nice relaxing space.

The surrounding area was fine. You are away from the bustle of downtown, which is nice, and it's a pleasant 10-15 min. walk to reach it.

There was maintenance (replacing decking) going on during our stay. The workers were professional and respectful, however, they did use the tenant parking spots some days which was inconvenient.

Overall we enjoyed Papa's Hideaway and would definitely stay here again!!

Nice Place, excess "fees" are a RIP OFF.

Reviewed on 2014-03-27 by Unknown of Factoryville, PA United States
Updated on 2014-03-27
Review of stay from 2014-03-07 to 2014-03-09
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Vacation rental unit was excellent, however the additional "fees" you must pay are a rip off, especially the "damage fee" you pay even if you damage nothing. The excess fees raised the room rates by about 50%.
Manager response on 2014-03-27 - Response from Key West Vacation Rentals
So glad you enjoyed the home. The $49 fee you paid was Damage Protection Insurance in lieu of a $3,000 damage deposit.

Comfort, Location and Good Price

Reviewed on 2014-06-16 by NELSON LUCIO TEIXEIRA DE V. of NOVA FRIBURGO, RIO DE JANEIRO Brazil
Updated on 2014-06-18
Review of stay from 2014-05-10 to 2014-05-13
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
We were very well received by the employee Joseph who was always courteous and helpful when we need to. Papa's Hideaway has a great location, rooms are clean and airy, and all at a great price.

Ok...not really what we expected

Reviewed on 2014-04-27 by William K. of , United States
Updated on 2014-04-27
Review of stay from 2014-04-24 to 2014-04-25
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
the unit is waht i would consider bare bones. the furniture semed a bit outdated. it seemed to be little hassle to lock door...then enter into sliding door.
the property itself was nice, we just werent fans of the unit

A piece of paradise

Reviewed on 2014-06-02 by Unknown of Buffalo, NY United States
Updated on 2014-06-02
Review of stay from 2014-05-26 to 2014-05-30
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Overall I loved this vacation rental. The office staff were very helpful as were the grounds staff. A few minor details I hope the rental addresses: many of the lights were out by the pool making both the ambiance and lighting for night swims lacking. The pad on our ironing board needed replacing. Many reviews state there is breakfast available in the morning, but I believe this was the case under the previous ownership.

Torrents of Spring

Reviewed on 2015-03-04 by John K. of Luisville, KY United States
Updated on 2015-03-04
Review of stay from 2015-02-14 to 2015-02-28
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Great location on quiet end of Duval - would recommend

hidden treasure

Reviewed on 2014-05-30 by Barry E. of Key West, FL United States
Updated on 2014-05-30
Review of stay from 2014-05-13 to 2014-05-14
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
My wife and I loved it and would stay again, perfect location and very cozy room. The rental staff were very friendly and even shuttled us to the ferry terminal, big thumbs up!!

Quiet, hidden location

Reviewed on 2014-06-04 by Unknown of Norfolk, VA United States
Updated on 2014-06-04
Review of stay from 2014-05-30 to 2014-06-01
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
I loved that the property was a bit off of the beaten path. It was quiet and the vegetation on the property made it very private and very shaded. My only complaint was that the sliding glass doors did not lock from the inside. Although there was a locked door to the patio, I would have preferred to lock the glass doors too.

Key West for First Time

Reviewed on 2014-06-15 by Unknown of Key West, Fl United States
Updated on 2014-06-15
Review of stay from 2014-06-05 to 2014-06-09
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Papa's Hideaway was perfect for our first trip to KW. It is literally hidden from most of the hustle. The BEST part was how quiet and relaxing this place was. It is one block from Duval. Entry is via an alley and it is enveloped by lush trees, landscaping, and a fenced in outdoor area. Trees provide shade, but the pool gets lots of sun.
Only negatives: Our upstairs unit was very outdated in the kitchen and bathroom. Bathroom was VERY small.
Housekeeping was discreet and quiet, no early knocking and banging.
We would recommend this place for our own family and friends. Rent bikes and you are set for the week(end)!

nice cozy apartment in key west

Reviewed on 2014-12-05 by Unknown of Owings, MD United States
Updated on 2014-12-05
Review of stay from 2014-11-28 to 2014-12-01
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Excellent location to walk around old key west

This place is nice!

Reviewed on 2014-12-28 by Kenneth T. of Amaillo, Texas United States
Updated on 2014-12-28
Review of stay from 2014-12-01 to 2014-12-02
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
This is a nicely remodeled unit! Very nice open ceiling, & bathroom. Plenty of room in the remodeled shower. Very comfortable bed. Grounds are beautiful. Pool area is very nice. Extremely tropical. Key West Vacation rentals are great to deal with. All documents are ready at check in. Office ran our boarding passes with no problem. We would stay here again with no problem.

Best in Key West

Reviewed on 2014-08-11 by John M. of Key West, FL United States
Updated on 2014-08-11
Review of stay from 2014-08-08 to 2014-08-09
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Clean rooms, great location, nicely decorated. What more could you ask for. Love it.

A week in Key West

Reviewed on 2015-03-12 by Tamara M. of Geneseo, NY United States
Updated on 2015-03-12
Review of stay from 2015-02-03 to 2015-02-10
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
We had a wonderful stay at Papa's Hideaway. The room is exactly as pictured. Very clean and comfortable. The location is very close to the southern most point but still close to everything. You can walk to Mallory Square in 15 to 20 minutes, but a 5 minute bike ride. The only down side for us was the pool area. It is very nice but quite small and not much sun. Over all, it was a wonderful place to stay.

Serenity

Reviewed on 2014-11-06 by Debra F. of Canfield, OH United States
Updated on 2014-11-08
Review of stay from 2014-11-01 to 2014-11-02
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Very pleasant would stay again!!!!!

Like living in an enchanted tropical forest.

Reviewed on 2014-12-27 by Unknown of Chapel Hill, NC United States
Updated on 2014-12-27
Review of stay from 2014-12-23 to 2014-12-25
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
We stayed here for 2 nights with our teenage son. Great location, quiet, lovely screened porch, very private. Only complaint was the sofa bed was not comfy, but son didn't mind too much. Can walk to everything, and park for free on the street.

Excellent Condo in Key West

Reviewed on 2015-04-28 by Erik L. of , United States
Updated on 2015-04-28
Review of stay from 2015-04-18 to 2015-04-26
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Papa's Hideaway is an excellent location only 2 blocks from the sandy beach at South Beach and a block from Duval Street. Nice place with its own pool, a decent kitchen, and daily maid service.

Fabulous place to relax!

Reviewed on 2015-05-18 by Unknown of Key West, FL United States
Updated on 2015-05-18
Review of stay from 2015-05-10 to 2015-05-14
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
These intimate cabanas are perfect for a secluded get away - and yet right off the main drag of Duval St. Super close to the 'southern most point of the US', one block off of Duval St…but tucked in a quiet, private garden with a private pool, grill and private balcony. The room is just the right size - not huge, but not tiny. Full kitchen, spacious main room and very clean. Key West Vacation Rentals makes it very easy to relax and have a great vacation!

Map